Geographic Educators of Nebraska

Gildersleeve, Stoddard, Stone Award

In 2008, the GEON Steering Committee established a geography service award in honor of the three professors who came together to help create the Geographic Educators of Nebraska in the early 1990s.  Chuck Gildersleeve of UN-Omaha, Bob Stoddard of UN-Lincoln, and Marv Stone of UN-Kearney along with other folks guided a small group of K-16 educators into becoming a successful statewide organization. 

In their honor, and to pay tribute to those individuals that continue to advance the growth of geography in the state, GEON annually bestows the "Gildersleeve, Stoddard, Stone Award" to individuals in each of the three Congressional districts for their efforts and accomplishments in improving geography education in Nebraska.  The awards are presented during the annual conference of the Nebraska State Council for the Social Studies. 

Previous GSS Winners

Year 1st District 2nd District 3rd District
2008 Lonnie Moore Harris Payne Susan Gallagher
2009 Steve Callaghan Mary Lou Alfieri Mary Claire May
2010 Mary Kay Kreikemeier Thomas Allen Cathy Larson
2011 Randy Bertolas  Steve McCarville Shari Frost
2012 Kathleen Fimple William Deardoff Tara Dunn
2013 Chuck Morgan Christina Dando Larry Starr
2014 Deb Anderson Becky Feagan Martha Ford
2015 Randy Ernst Maria Walinski-Peterson Bob Sankey
2016 Alison Kelley None Amber Lewis
2017 Jaclyn Kellison Amy Studts Dan Gossman
2018 Ted Larson Kyle Tredinnick Lesli Rawlings